Eva Longoria, Diego Luna, Lucero Among the 2013 Hispanic Heritage Award Honorees

The Hispanic Heritage Foundation recently announced the recipients of the 16th Hispanic Heritage Awards, to be presented in a ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. on September 5, and broadcast on Sept. 15 on mun2.

The Hispanic Heritage Awards were established in 1987 by President Ronald Reagan to commemorate the creation of Hispanic Heritage Month. Since that time, the Hispanic Heritage Awards have honored top Latino leaders in various categories for their impact on America and the world. The Awards are a signature event of the Hispanic Heritage foundation, a well-respected nonprofit organization whose mission is to “inspire, identify, prepare and position Latino leaders in the classroom, community, and workforce to meet America’s priorities.”

Eva Longoria

Diego Luna

This year, four of the nine honorees come from the world of entertainment. Actress, producer, and activist Eva Longoria will receive the Community Service Awards, actor, director, and producer Diego Luna will receive the Inspira Award, the musical group Los Tigres Del Norte will receive the Legend Award, and actress and singer Lucero will receive the Vision Award. Other recipients include chef Jose Andres and race car driver Juan Pablo Montoya.

“The Hispanic Heritage Awards are proud to honor yet another inspiring group of Latino leaders,” said Jose Antonio Tijerino, president and CEO of HHF. “The Hispanic community has made significant contributions throughout history on America and the world and it’s an honor to be an organization established by the White House to recognize that impact. We are also thrilled to partner with Target and our other sponsors in carrying on the rich tradition of our Awards.”

(For a one-minute video on the Awards, visit TheHispanicHeritageAwards).